Contact us







Philly Shell Club

The Philadelphia Shell Club

The Philadelphia Shell Club was formally founded on September 22, 1955 during a meeting at the Academy of Natural Sciences. Among its 58 charter members were collectors such as John Dyas Parker and Charles Wurtz, and scientists including Henry A. Pilsbry, Ruth D. Turner and R. Tucker Abbott.

The regular monthly meetings

The club meets on the third Thursday of every month except July and August. There is a main speaker, and often shorter presentations from club members. Over the years, every major figure in American Malacology has spoken at a PSC meeting, most more than once! See the meeting page for details of past and upcoming presenters.

The Auction

The club's annual Shell Auction was its earliest special event. It was held for the first time on November 17, 1955, and netted $151.26 for the club's treasury. The auction has since grown considerably and moved to the third Thursday in May, where it replaces the regular meeting. One of the last regularly scheduled shell auctions in the world, this is a great opportunity to buy rare and unusual specimens at a fraction of market prices!